There are many questions on people’s mind on what the seven deadly sins ? According to Christian tradition the seven deadly sins are; Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy and  Pride.

The seven deadly sins are also called the seven capital sins or the seven cardinal sins. They are considered to be the most basic sins that plague humanity and the sins that are most likely to beset us. Each of the seven deadly sins leads to other sins. For example, anger can lead to evil speaking, violence or murder.

Here is a brief description of each of the seven deadly sins

  1. Lust

Having an intense desire or longing, especially sexual

Matthew 5:28

“But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart”

Chastity or self-control cures lust by controlling passion and leveraging that energy for the good of others.

  1. Gluttony

Gluttony is an excessive ongoing consumption of food or drink

Proverbs 23:21

“For drunkards and gluttons become poor, and drowsiness clothes them in rags”

Temperance cures gluttony by implanting the desire to be healthy, therefore making one fit to serve others.

  1. Greed

Greed is the overwhelming desire for possessions

Ephesians 4:19

“Having lost all sensitivity, they have given themselves over to sensuality so as to indulge in every kind of impurity, with a continual lust for more”

Charity cures greed by putting the desire to help others above storing up treasure for one’s self.

  1. Sloth

Sloth is reluctance to work or make an effort; laziness.

Proverbs 15:19

“The way of the sluggard is blocked with thorns, but the path of the upright is a highway”

Diligence or zeal cures slothfulness by placing the interest of others above a life of ease and relaxation.

  1. Wrath

Wrath is extreme anger or hate towards a person

Proverbs 15:1

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger”

Patience cures wrath by one first understanding the needs and desires of others before acting or speaking.

  1. Envy

The feeling that you deserve the possessions, success, virtues or talents of another person.

1 Peter 2:1-2

“Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation”

Kindness cures envy by placing the desire to help others above the need to supersede them.

  1. Pride

An inflated, unrealistic sense of your self-worth.

Proverbs 16:18

“Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall”

Humility cures pride by removing one’s ego and boastfulness, therefore allowing the attitude of service.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here